Book Review 53: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

26 Dec

It’s unlikely I can write a review that adds anything to what has already been written about this book. This is delightful young adult fiction. Hazel and Augustus are two teenagers living with and trying to survive cancer. They meet in a cancer support group. If you’re reading this book, you know there’s not going to be a happy ending. It’s simply impossible.

But unlike a run of the mill Nicholas Sparks story (I’m thinking of A Walk to Remember, specifically), this book doesn’t feel cheap. The cancer and all the pain, suffering and death that can accompany it are not some plot twist thrown in as an artificial conflict for the characters. You know about the cancer from the beginning. It’s what brings Hazel and Augustus together. The tragedies that ensure aren’t cheap; they are devastating.

It sounds crazy to say, because the cancer was omnipresent in the book (Hazel’s oxygen tank, multiple visits to the hospital, a make-a-wish foundation style trip to Europe). It was inescapable. But when Hazel and Augustus were together, you kind of forgot they had cancer. They were just regular, awkward, lovestruck teenagers trying to figure out how to make a relationship work. They had been out of the social game for so long due to their illness; their stilted interactions and attempts at flirting are impossibly endearing. They feel so normal, even though you know that the lives these kids lead are incredibly painful and exhausting and not happily normal.

I was surprised by the ending. I cried while I read this on the bus, which is probably embarassing. But I really thought I knew how it was going to end; and I was distracted by the charming development of their relationship, and I was taken by surprise by how it ended.

2 Responses to “Book Review 53: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green”

  1. susanbright March 19, 2014 at 2:27 pm #

    I have been trying to avoid reading books about cancer because they are always so depressing (how could they not be) but everyone seems to be reading The Fault in our Stars. I guess I have to suck it up….and read it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. HelloKatieO’s #CBR5 Reviews 38 – 53 | Cannonball Read V - December 26, 2013

    […] Review 53: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green […]

Leave a comment