Book Review 39: Persuasion by Jane Austen

22 Oct

I don’t think I’m a Jane Austen person, and it’s unfortunate. These are the kinds of books I should like. They’re usually quiet, family dramas with excellent character development and classic themes.

I guess when I read a book that’s ultimately a romance, here between Anne Elliot and Captain Wenthworth, I want to feel more invested in the characters. I just wasn’t here. Anne and Capitain Wentworth barely knew each other, and they both recognized that by the standards of the time, they weren’t a “suitable” match. I’m not a “love at first sight” person, so I suppose I can’t empathize with the predicament.  

Anne was interesting, as an individual character.  She seemed very trapped within her family structure, and the class structure at the time.  She was trying to follow all the rules, but there’s ultimately only so many years you can spend playing the perfect daughter until your wants and your family’s wants come to head.

Not my favorite, but worth a read.

One Response to “Book Review 39: Persuasion by Jane Austen”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. HelloKatieO’s #CBR5 Reviews 38 – 53 | Cannonball Read V - December 26, 2013

    […] Review 39: Persuasion by Jane Austen […]

Leave a Reply

