Book Review 30: Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty

27 May

God, I loved this book. I can’t believe I didn’t read this when it came out in 2001, when I was actually in the target demographic. But Jessica Darling is such a wonderful young adult character and I love her just as much as a 26 year old as I probably would have as a 14 year old.

Jessica’s best friend Hope moves away, stranding Jessica in her New Jersey high school with the rest of their group of friends, who Jessica strongly feels are significantly inferior to Hope.  Jessica has her best guy friend, who has clear ulterior motives as he’s been in love with her since middle school. The remaining girls – one a little “slutty,” one pretty girl with impossible dreams and a boyfriend, and one follower – are just not Hope.

What I think this book captures about high school better than most is that the drama of high school isn’t the build up to a Major Event.  How many young adult books have you read that centered around prom, or homecoming, or a major sporting event, or some Very Special Event? Probably a lot.  Sloppy Firsts ebbs and flows, spreading the drama out over the course of the book. Some of the biggest things to happen to Jessica happen organically, in between classes at her locker, or at her lunch table. It really felt like a throw back to high school.

Anyway, Jessica is smart, funny and snarky. She reminds me very much of Jenna on MTV’s Awkward (the absolute best young adult television show I’ve seen in years, don’t judge because it’s on MTV). I’m planning on reading the rest of the books, that follow Jessica into adulthood.

3 Responses to “Book Review 30: Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty”

  1. Bethany May 27, 2013 at 1:28 pm #

    Yay! I love this book, I’m glad you liked it. I read at least one of the sequels and really enjoyed it as well.

    • HelloKatieO May 30, 2013 at 11:01 am #

      Excellent! I’m excited to keep reading now.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. HelloKatieO’s #CBR5 Review #30: Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCaffery | Cannonball Read V - May 27, 2013

    […] What I think this book captures about high school better than most is that the drama of high school isn’t the build up to a Major Event.  How many young adult books have you read that centered around prom, or homecoming, or a major sporti… […]

Leave a Reply

