Book Review #55: The Gunslinger by Stephen King

4 Sep

It seems amazing to me that I’ve made it this far in my life without reading Stephen King’s Dark Tower series, but here we are. I am beginning the journey and it’s awesome so far. I can’t seem to find the second book on reserve in the library, but once I locate it, I plan on reviewing the following 6 novels in a row.

In Book I, we meet the key players. There’s Roland, the gunslinger, who’s chasing the Man in Black across the world, hoping to capture him and force him to take him to the Dark Tower. Roland is sort of a cowboy figure – solitary, quick to draw and passionate about the few women he’s loved. But he’s also surprisingly nostalgic, and the flashbacks throughout the novel really help you get a sense of his motivations. Too often in fantasy character development is sacrificed for advancing the plot, and I really enjoyed the glimpses into Roland’s past.

And there’s the Man in Black, who can bring the dead back to life and seems to be all knowing, or all powerful. As Roland chases him, he’s perpetually one step ahead. He lays traps for Roland.  He’s probably using Roland to serve his own means and ends, but hopefully Roland proves a more formidable foe than the Man in Black expected.

I’m looking forward to the next installment.

 

2 Responses to “Book Review #55: The Gunslinger by Stephen King”

  1. Jorge October 16, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

    Hey there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I
    came to look it over. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this
    to my followers! Superb blog and wonderful design and style.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. HelloKatieO’s #CBR4 Reviews #53 – #57 « Cannonball Read IV - September 4, 2012

    […] Review #55: The Gunslinger by Stephen King. Look out world, I’m finally reading the Dark Tower series and I am OBSESSED. So good. I plan on reviewing the remaining 6 books consecutivel, once I get them out of the library. Full review.   […]

Leave a Reply

