Book Review #53: Ghost Story by Jim Butcher

4 Sep

I’ve been meaning to read the Dresden Files for ages. These are the things I love most in books: series, mysteries, supernatural elements, private detectives and police officers. The Dresden Files hits everything on my list. Normally, I would start with the first book in the series. But this was on sale at Target, and I’ve heard the first book or two are hard to get to.

Harry Dresden is a crime solving wizard living in Chicago. In this book, he finds himself dead. And back to his old life, in ghost form, trying to solve the mystery of his murder among things. His life is significantly more complicated now that he’s a ghost – his old wizarding tricks are not so easy anymore. He has to relearn how to use his powers, and learn how to live and survive as a ghost.

Harry is exactly how I like my detectives. He’s snarky, he breaks the rules (both wizarding rules, and the law) and he seems like he’d be a fun guy to hang out with. The mystery side of this book got a little complicated, particularly because I had no background on all of the super natural beings Butcher had introduced in earlier novels.

I also think I would’ve gotten more out of this particular novel if I’d read some of the prior books. Ghost Harry spent a lot of time reflecting on his life, and what had gone wrong (and right), which would have meant more and probably been more enjoyable with some context.

Overall, I was neutral towards the book but I’m interested in reading more. So that’s a win!

3 Responses to “Book Review #53: Ghost Story by Jim Butcher”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. HelloKatieO’s #CBR4 Reviews #53 – #57 « Cannonball Read IV - September 4, 2012

    […] Review #53: Ghost Story by Jim Butcher. I’ve been meaning to read the Dresden Files for ages. These are the things I love most in books: series, mysteries, supernatural elements, private detectives and police officers. The Dresden Files hits everything on my list. Full review. […]

  2. Jim Butcher – The Dresden Files – The Series | Serendipity - September 11, 2012

    […] Book Review #53: Ghost Story by Jim Butcher (hellokatieo.wordpress.com) […]

  3. The Dresden Files: The Complete First Season (3 DVD Set) | Serendipity - September 26, 2012

    […] Book Review #53: Ghost Story by Jim Butcher (hellokatieo.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

