Book Review #41: Then Came You by Jennifer Weiner

9 Jul

Jennifer Weiner as an author, and cool human being, is well documented. I bought her most recent book during one of those epic delays at an airport, and it was fine. Honestly, “fine” is kind of disappointing for an author who’s books I usually love. In Her Shoes and Good in Bed are two books I read over, and over, like comfort food.

Then Came You is the story of a baby, from the perspective of all the people who took part in creating its life. The egg donor at Princeton who sells her eggs to pay for her father’s rehab. The surrogate mother who’s military husband is frustrating she’s selling her body because he can’t provide for them. The infertile woman who waited her whole life to land a husband who could provide for her, who finds out her body can’t have children. Her stepdaughter, who fears the infertile woman is a gold digger.

There were so many “main” characters that none of them were particularly well developed. They all had interesting stories, and I wanted to know more about each of them, but it was hard. Even still, I loved the way the friendships developed naturally throughout the book. Making friends as an adult is difficult, and it’s something I’ve personally struggled with, and I really enjoyed the way their friendships blossomed around their unusual lifestyle arrangements.

Not my favorite, but it’s worth a look if surrogacy and egg donation is a topic you’re interested in.

3 Responses to “Book Review #41: Then Came You by Jennifer Weiner”

  1. alenaslife July 10, 2012 at 7:46 am #

    I’m in complete agreement. Her first two novels were so strong, and different from other things I read. I was really disappointed in Then Came You. I’ve also heard very mixed revews of her latest release. I’m not expecting it to be great, so maybe I’ll be pleasantly surprised.

    • A.M.B. July 10, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

      Yeah, it definitely wasn’t my favorite Jennifer Weiner book. I felt like the characters all had the same “voice.” However, I did find the surrogacy arrangement to be an interesting basis for a novel. I ended up having more to say about surrogacy agreements under Pennsylvania law than about the book itself when I blogged about it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. HelloKatieO’s #CBR4 Review #41: Then Came You by Jennifer Weiner « Cannonball Read IV - July 9, 2012

    […] More… Share this:ShareTwitterFacebookEmailDiggStumbleUpon Posted by HelloKatieO in 2 stars – an ok book and tagged CBR4, chick lit, Good in Bed, hellokatieo, In Her Shoes, Jennifer Weiner, Then Came You […]

Leave a Reply

