Best Libraries

3 May

Last week, Flavorwire ran a fantastic pictorial of unqiue, stunning and just plain gorgeous libraries from around the globe. You can check out those photos here. The library I grew up with had its charms (like a floppy white rabbit in the children’s library to play with), but it certainly doesn’t compare to any of Flavorwire’s picks.

Anyways, those photos made me think about the most beautiful library I’ve ever been in.  It’s not world renowned, or celebrated in any blog or magazine pictorials. But the light, the windows, the arrangement and the over all feel made me so, so happy when I was in there.

My favorite library, pictured above, is the Lawrenceville School’s Bunn Library. In high school, I spent a summer studying at the school and I’ve never gotten over that library. I might be blinded by my emotional attachment. But it’s also pretty spectacular.

You can check out a larger image at the contract developer’s website here.

So, which library gets the runner up spot?  

Source: Boston.com.

Not to be outdone, my choice for runner up is certainly the Boston Public Library. It’s awe inspiring. Those lamps! The windows! That ceiling! And the courtyard is phenomenal.  Click here for a peek. 

What are some of your favorite libraries?

One Response to “Best Libraries”

  1. thewalruswasfaun May 3, 2012 at 9:36 am #

    The Bodleian Library in Oxford 🙂

Leave a Reply

